The Tiding of Abraham and his Prayer

‘My Lord! Grant me [unerring] judgement, and unite me with the Righteous.
Confer on me a worthy repute among the posterity,
and make me one of the heirs to the paradise of bliss.
Forgive my father, for he is one of those who are astray.
Do not disgrace me on the day that they will be resurrected,
the day when neither wealth nor children will avail,
except him who comes to Allah with a sound heart.’ 1

And paradise will be brought near for the Godwary,
and hell will be brought into view for the perverse,
and they shall be told: ‘Where is that which you used to worship
besides Allah? Do they help you, or do they help each other?’

1. That is, a heart that is free from the love of the world.


Leave a Reply

