Sayr wa Suluk & Ethical Beauty

IMG_1563.JPG
Rilke

Life is too short. I remember my great grandfather praying with his eyes before he passed and I remember the importance of priority. I close my eyes and see brown soil piled on a brother’s body as his widow wept; a tragedy too harrowing, reminding me that love for a spouse is but a further impetus toward returning to God. I remember and see raw systemic issues circulating our world and in order to reform families and communities and work toward my sustainable ethic, I need to reform and evolve my soul first. As I write this, I cry over the infinitely growing and expanding Opening toward God in every moment. A moment, in its stillness, is more encompassing of the Universe than anything within me.

In ethical beauty you will find tawhid, that I can promise.

I welcome the poetics of nature, the sacred revival of speaking to the Sun, and allowing a tree to penetrate my heart.

My Lord, allow me to breathe beauty till my last. Protect and keep me in the company of those who remember You. I surrender myself.

In your life you get some pleasant breaths from your Lord. Make a point of being benefited by them and do not turn away from them.

-Allamah Tabataba’i


Stages of Spiritual Journey by Allamah Muhammad Husayn Tabataba’i
Sayr wa Suluk: Spiritual Journey

Leave a Reply

