A revised girl

As I walk upstairs the same smells greet me from when I was but a girl. Memories of my time in a pleated skirt, white blouse and most likely pink or white hijab. I can see my friends and I giggling in sujood while Anse (teacher) reprimanded us later.

I also recall:

The trailer classrooms and how I used to think there were most likely tarantulas under there.

The silver cluttered wudu wash station.


The tiny gift shop downstairs; I used to buy dates and gifts for mom with my lunch money savings.


The chandelier in the prayer area adoring God’s 99 names. Al-Bari is the first I always see.


The pistachio and beige carpet, smelling something of a mix between feet, masala, and tears.


Today I am a revised woman who no longer giggles in prayer. I go through the motions of preparing for prayer in the same spaces but with a reinterpretation of the world around me, with an appreciation and deep pursuit to understand the Natural, with the Natural before me.

That is between me and God, you see.

Alhamdullilah.

Leave a Reply

